Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

iPad

I sent this iPad down to my Mum in the post in the first Covid lockdown - both she and my stepdad were terrified of it but we did manage - with some swearing - to FaceTime with it a couple of times.  When I was down there at the weekend I dug it out, buried in the bottom of a drawer, when I eventually charged it up it said it hadn’t been used for 72 weeks.

Can I get the bloody thing up and running - can I b*****ks! They’ve forgotten their Apple ID login details and thrown away the piece of paper I told them to keep safely. No amount of trying to reset the password will work as we can’t answer the security questions correctly (despite knowing all the answers!). I tried a factory reset from my Mac and that’s resulted in an Activation Lock - I understand the reasons behind it but it’s frustrating to say the least. I have removed it from my list of devices (as instructed)but to no avail. 

I now have to go through the process of proving to Apple that I legally own it; despite having bought it directly from them, they need the original receipt. We have no idea where that is.

Many, many thousands of pounds have flowed in Apple’s direction over the years from this family. I’m not giving up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.