Time Check

We popped into Witney to get a card for daughter#2's upcoming birthday. I took this at 10 past one, so I think both clocks are just about right. We had a lunchtime pizza in Pizza Express, first time for ages. The pizzas were nice but the ambiance was a bit lacking. I thought they could have smartened the place up a bit while they were closed.

In the extras a more general view of Witney (with a gull), and Sandwich de Witney. That must be a Brexit opportunity if ever I saw one. They should now be urged to change their name to Sandwiches of Witney, or even the more snappy Witney Sandwiches. They must be comparatively new anyway. In my brief time at Early's of Witney I used to walk down into the town at lunchtime and buy a sandwich to take back to my office. I don't remember them back then. My favourite sandwich by the way was sausage, mature cheddar and pickle, possibly a bit too British for a Sandwich de Witney baguette.

I was always amazed that some of the other directors used to go home for lunch, no matter what might be going on, such was their commitment. No wonder they closed down.

Update on my broadband. I connected up my PC using powerline ethernet adaptors, and it still suffers from the same speed drop off, at the same time as the wifi speed drops. So that suggests it can't just be a wifi problem. I may have to move my PC into the living room and try a direct connection from the hub to see how that fares.

Thanks for all the advice yesterday by the way. I would buy a new router if I was convinced wifi was the only problem.

One year ago:
Palm Leaves

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.