early morning bike ride

Out on the bike this morning.  Early.  It’s the first time since Covid and I’m a bit nervous, so want to get going before the roads get busy.  Anniemay is still in the Land of Nod and I leave her a note in the form of a dirty coffee cup on the kitchen counter.

I take the Four Hills route and for the first time ever, have to use the turbo setting on the motor.  That’s what it’s for, I guess.

The countryside is stunning.  Although it all looks a bit parched, there are odd patches of green with a few spashes of red from poppies.  I’m a bit surprised to see, looking back at my blips, that I’ve not been this way since April.  Those who work the land have been busy.

There are few cars this early, but lots of people on two wheels.  I nod a greeting - most return it, a few ignore me.  A bit like the strange looking sheep I come across (see extra).

Each time I take this route I tell myself that I must bring a camera with me, because the phone doesn’t really do justice to what I see.  And, as usual, I forget.

There's coffee and a croissant fresh out of the oven when I get home.  That's the best bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.