The essence of the mess

By SunkeneyedGirl

If my hands could defoliate

If my hands could defoliate
I pronounce your name
on dark nights,
when the stars come
to drink on the moon
and sleep in tufts
of hidden fronds.
And I feel myself hollow
of passion and music.
Crazy clock that sings
dead ancient hours.

I pronounce your name,
in this dark night,
and your name sounds
more distant than ever.
More distant that all stars
and more doleful than a calm rain.

Will I love you like then
ever again? What blame
has my heart?
When the mist dissipates,
what other passion may I expect?
Will it be calm and pure?
If only my fingers could
defoliate the moon!

Federico Garcia Lorca

It was late, dark and I was so very much the worse for a bottle of rather cheap red wine...*sigh*

X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.