Some kind of a record

By StrangeLoop

My daily commute

The view towards Newport heading south by bike across the Tay road bridge.

The 30-40 minutes that it takes me to cycle each way have become such an important part of my routine, and each stage of the journey stands out for different reasons. In the morning I usually have company for half of the distance as Eeva follows the same route to the lab. After that I'm on my own, and cycling has become quite meditative to me. The perfect time to prepare for the day, and to reflect at the end of it.

The view across the bridge never fails to make an impression on me. When I cycle across during a sunrise or sunset the orange light shimmering down the otherwise silvery Tay estuary is life-affirmingly beautiful. Even when the wind is gusting at 60 miles an hour I love this part of the ride, and it definitely wakes you up in the morning.

Most importantly, though, my commute reminds me to be grateful for living in such a beautiful place and for having the health that allows me to do it. It may be all to easy to forget that when cramped up at my desk at home or in a lecture theatre in the hospital or sitting in a car in traffic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.