Windmill 'De Kievit', Grijpskerk

'Kievit' = 'lapwing' -- indeed, the bird.  Some call it a plover?  Lapwing is fine. :D)
'Grijpskerk' = 'Gripes-kerk' ... Nothing to do with griping.  :D))
Actually, in 1975, the mill was named 'de Grijpvogel' or 'Griffon'.  It would have suited the name of the village perfectly, but the residents found it too abstract and not really relevant, so they chose a bird species everyone was familiar with -- the lapwing.  'Grijpvogel' does sound a bit too 'heavy' for such a small place.

A rather long drive in very fine weather.  I did say I was in the mood for a trip.  And I'm always in the mood for a mill, besides.

Back in the south, I was actually home in time to cook dinner, something I don't regularly do, and that is an understatement.  MOOCking and gaming and kitchen duties, at least some.  I'll do the rest in the morning.

No idea if I'll go on the hunt again tomorrow.  Three in a row... hmm... although I have done it before.  And Teqla appears to be quite economical, too.  We'll see.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.