WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Glorious Garden!

We had a slow, relaxed morning which was good because I didn’t get to sleep till after midnight past night - firstly Frank’s snoring and then kids in the nearby play park enjoying themselves till the witching hour! We never hear them up late round here so I don't know what that was all about. They weren’t being bad or anything just talking and laughing and playing on the swings. I suppose we’ve all done it.
I remember sitting in the local park when I was a youngster and me and friend were just talking about President Kennedy who had just been shot.
Mum and Dad were worried because we were so late.

This afternoon we went to the Ukrainian get together in the most beautiful garden of a couple who just want to offer their space for such things. It was lovely for Tonya and Yurii to meet other refugees and for us to meet other hosts. The garden was 3 acres though we didn’t see all of it. Beautifully laid out with wild parts, veg plots, some areas a bit more formal, a wild meadow, woodland and loads more. Graham and Gwen are a lovely couple too and they had laid out drinks and cakes and there were 2 stalls where people could help themselves to fruit and veg from their garden, and store cupboard food as well as toiletries and 2nd hand goods. 
Frank and Tonya each sang a couple of songs and Tonya sang a Ukrainian folk song with 2 other ladies. Yurii was the ‘official’ photographer for the day.
When we got home Tonya made a lovely dinner and I washed the dishes.
I think - hope - the weather will turn tomorrow. The garden is parched.

Tomorrow Frank's daughter Anna and our Grandchildren, Poppy and Arlo are visiting for a night. A tight squeeze and we only have one bathroom!
I worked out that whenever I walk past the bathroom when it’s vacant I must go for a wee! So far so good! ;-D))

Book and bedtime. Poem tomorrow, I’m too tired to think!
Goodnight all!  :-)X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.