Grey Heron

The young one flew to the edge of the loch this morning then jumped over the fence. I gave all 4 of the crows a bit of pollock before starting to feed the young one. It wasn't long before the juvenile herring gull arrived. it tried to grab a bit of sardine and god a sharp peck on the head. After that the young one jumped back over the fence and was joined by the older female (not sure what's going on there). I now split the fish into two tubs so that the heron at the clearing get a share. When the young one and the older female had their share I made my way round to the clearing.  At the clearing the youngest one was waiting so I quickly started feeding it. The male arrived but did not case the youngest one off instead he stood at the other edge of the clearing. I fed them both then headed home.
This afternoon it was just the young one at the bottom end and at the clearing the youngest one. They both got a good feed. One of the crows also turned up, the one who pretty gently takes the fish from my hand. I actually gave a bit of pollock to the juvenile herring gull - I may regret that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.