Beauty is all around us.

By Grace55

Roses and a tall sunflower

The Feast Day of Saint Stephen of Hungary..
When I woke up after a good sleep, it was pleasantly cool.  17c outdoors. 24c indoors. The intense humidity had at last broken and we had low dark clouds before a steady drizzle of much needed rain. Being deprived of the essential element of water has resulted in the loss of many plants, shrubs and trees, but we will hopefully learn the many lessons attached to this shared experience. After many days being indoors sheltering from the intense humidity,
I went for a long walk, as far as Cut Wood. in one direction and the railway station in the other direction to see how the planters were surviving. The purple petunias were flowering well and I deadheaded many red and pink Cosmos, which were thirsty, but putting on a great display. I walked 6211 steps and after my housework is done, I will go out again, to the library and then for a canal walk.
I took so many flower photos that I may share them later in the week.
This sunflower was a surprise, because it was appearing in the middle of a rose bed, where the Council mow the grassed areas and the local residents, due to cut backs, dutifully weed and tend the flower beds.
I deadhead the roses there. I love to see them thriving.
Take care and have a lovely Tuesday blip friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.