JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

World outside your window

It was Tanita Tikaram who first alerted me to the phrase 'World outside your window' in her 'hit single' of the same name in 1989. I like the concept and the encouragement to look beyond the familiar, the too-familiar. The single was released at an interesting time in my life as I travelled Europe by train and set up a business that year. I looked outside the familiar in more ways than one, and looked beyond the comfort zone.

The pic though is the literal, the view outside my office window this afternoon. Like many Scots who even in July pack a brolly just in case, and who cling onto the vain hope of still being able to wear sunglasses in October, I am probably weather-obsessed. It's the opening gambit in many a conversation with friends and strangers and has become indeed the topic of many a blip.

I went for more blue sky than cloud, mirroring today's sunny disposition, which began with a very high level meeting going surprisingly well after a rocky start and has included some of the best feedback from an external company about my students that I have ever received. I know the US legal dramas ('Suits' is my current favourite) will have us aspire to a 'corner office' but mine isn't and I like it all the same. The window looks west across the city skyline to hills beyond and on a day like this, I wouldn't swap it.

Outlook: sunny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.