Grey Heron

The young one flew down and met me on the grass near the loch. She had a good feed then headed to the water. I had given the crows and the gull some pollock but tw of the crows followed me over as well. The crows landed on the fence so I hand fed one and placed a bit near the other then started to feed the young one again. The older female joined her so I split what was left and headed to the clearing. The male was at the clearing and had a few bits of sardine but was not really interested. I made my way further round and the very young one started walking to me but stopped just out of throwing distance. The gulls were everywhere and I think they were bothering it. I waited but thought there is no point the little thing was not moving. I was heading back and saw the gulls chasing a heron and went back only to see the very young one fly over and the one who was getting chased out manoeuvred the gulls and landed in front of me and it was my young one. I don't know if she did purposely to let the little one fly over or if it was coincidence. I like to think it was on purpose. Anyway I fed them both then headed home.
This afternoon it was the male, the very young one who came a bit closer on her own and the young one on the way out.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.