Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Hot under the Collar

Phone call to N
Me:  Hi N! How are you doing?  It’s a long shot, but might you be free and interested in a month’s work in Zurich, starting on 12th September?
N:  Oooh, interesting!  Can’t you do it?  I’ve just finished a course actually, so I might well be.  What are the dates exactly? 
Me:  12th Sept to 7th Oct.  Private accommodation, flights, city travel pass, just a small group of candidates, well-equipped centre, easy-to-work with assistant tutor, salary X. 
N:  Yes, I’m interested. How exciting!

And that was it - my month’s work in Zurich gone!  

On Monday, a line in one of the centre’s emails saying that we would have to choose dates carefully for their next course towards the end of the year (their first hybrid one, when trainees teach half their lessons online and half f2f) as I might need a work permit. I could work around Europe before Brexit with no work permits. Alarm bells went off and it made me wonder if I’d need one for this course.  I raised my concern and they sprung into action - yes, I’d need one, but it could be processed in two weeks.  I sent the necessary documents and then yesterday the director called with the news that it would actually take two months to process.  Too late.  Neither the centre nor I wanted to take any risks.  Nobody’s fault, just that it didn't enter anyone's head as it's all so new. Thanks Brexit.  The director was stressed but focused on finding a solution, wondering how to save the course.  We looked at offering the candidates the option of moving online 100%, but didn’t really want to do that - they’d applied and been interviewed and accepted for a f2f course.  I wondered if I’d be allowed to do my role online, but it rang bells that online observing of teaching practice on a f2f course isn’t allowed. I checked - that was the case and fair enough.  Grasping at straws.  Could different tutors do parts of the course, but it was more difficult because the centre’s assistant tutor (who trained up with me and worked on online courses) had to observe all the teaching practice elements for the first half of the course to complete his training , so these first two weeks had to be with an experienced tutor. More tutor involvement would mean more flights too.  Then I wondered……my friend N.  Lives in Barcelona, British but has a Spanish passport, very experienced...  

The centre director is very grateful, of course, and I’m happy I could help, but suddenly everything has changed for us for September and October.   It’ll all be fine and might even perhaps be easier for us at the end of the day as Bb a busy work period coming up.  And hopefully, I can work on their next hybrid course later in the year.  For the moment though, it feels strange. At least I don't have to prepare or pack now!  And will be able to enjoy the slightly cooler weather here in Bcn.  And don't need to leave Bb for a month :-) 

My blip is of signs that are appearing around Bcn in windows as public places now have to agree to a minimum and maximum temperature. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.