Doingok

By Doingok

African Basil

And the honey bees. It's not easy to pick them out, but there were at least 30 honey bees swarming this plant and they have been since it started to flower.  It makes me happy to see honey bees in my yard and if the basil is the only flower they like, I'm glad it's gone this way.  I picked this plant up last winter and kept it until spring when it looked pretty sad. I put it (in its pot) on the compost section of the yard and when it started to look better, I took it and planted it in the "herb garden". It flourished all summer and is too big to get back in a pot. Maybe I can protect it from the frost outdoors?? In other basil news, the Italian basil that went to seed has reseeded itself and hopefully we'll have some to use before the frost arrives which won't be until January I hope.  Learning the ways of gardening in the south. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.