ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Act of Abdication -- Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Today, at 10.05, now-Princess Beatrix signed the Act of Abdication. The country has a new king -- King Willem Alexander. His wife is now Queen Maxima. We also have a new important figure ... Crown Princess Catharina Amalia, who will turn 10 in December this year. Everyone seems satisfied with the House of Orange.

I wondered which photograph to post. I had sat in front of the television and done my best, and found the Act of Abdication the most important of all my shots. In Amsterdam, on the Dam itself, large screens had been set up to enable the thousands gathered in the city to witness the moment. At the precise moment when Beatrix attached her signature to the Act, a large roar reverberated through the city and many shed a tear. (To be honest, I was in tears and my hands were shaking, even in my own living room, yes.) Identical reactions were audible when the King and his consort attached their signatures.

This afternoon, I'll take more shots of the swearing-in ceremony.

For more shots ... the Abdication Ceremony!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.