Trail camera

Well, my plan for my post this morning didn't work. The Red Arrows are based at Hawarden Airport this weekend, for displays at Rhyl (i think). Yesterday morning I watched Red Arrow 4 come in from the Peterborough direction on the plane app. I can only watch one at a time on the app. So I am not sure whether they were all together at that point. They were in mid Wales for a bit, and then were joined by a helicopter which was leading them quite slowly towards Hawarden. I wondered why, and then I realised there was a lot of air traffic in their path, commercial and otherwise. Finally there was very little, and then no air traffic in their vicinity. So, they proceeded much faster towards Hawarden, all the while being led by this helicopter. The plane app told me the helicopter was leading them. I was hoping they would come over my bungalow. A lot of air traffic does that as it is coming to land at Hawarden. But alas no, they came in a different route by the river. Maybe they come into a different runway? I heard the helicopter bringing them in. I can pick up helicopters very well with my cochlear processor. So that is the nearest I will get this weekend to experiencing the Red Arrows!

Now, the trail cameras. Repositioned them last night. The little one picked up nothing, although it should have picked up both badger and fox, the only two visitors last night. But they came multiple times. It must have something to do how the sensors pick up the surrounding stuff or not. The large one picked up 398 pictures and videos last night and the early hours of this morning. Half were pictures, half were 10 second videos. I couldn't look through them all, it would have taken all day and depleted the batteries in the trail camera. I need this card reader which will be coming next week sometime, and then I will be able to play them on the much bigger screen of my iPad.

So, I picked these to photograph the screen of the bigger trail camera. Best I can do today!

I made a collage of 4. Both badger and fox came in many times during the night from 9pm through to just after 4am. I do not know if it is different foxes coming in, but they seem different sizes. One looked awfully big.

You can see the badger (top right) come in to the bucket of water at the far end of the swing. He was drinking the full 10 seconds of the video. It is hard to see, but Midnight is on the swing, watching the badger. Have a look at the first picture as the badger is leaving the picture, and you can definitely see Midnight on the swing watching the badger. The second the badger gets out of frame, Midnight jumps off the swing and follows him. Brave cat? He is not in the least bit scared of the badger.

Bottom two are of the fox. He also goes to drink water from the bucket, but not in these pics. The fox is constantly checking the swing to see if Midnight is on there. I think the fox and Midnight are not friends. There has been a couple of occasions recently when Midnight has stunk to high heaven in a morning, and I think it is with a skirmish with the fox. The fox has sprayed him. I would like to see if I can capture on the trail camera what happens here.

Cuppa tea now.
So much to do.
Have your best day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.