Abernethy Cottage Life

By Keir

Caltha palustris - Marsh Marigold

I do really like this plant. Simple, bright flowers, glossy leaves and hardy as you like. Pond things seem to be off as the skunk cabbage is in flower too.

Also nice to see a bee getting in there (bloody difficult to photograph). Been a lot in the press about their decline. Not good but to blame one chemical seems extreme. I'm not saying it doesn't have an effect on them but I am suggesting we prob need to be ban 101 other chems, change practice with regards wild flowers and do something about climate change too. Bit like the whole CFC argument. Yes we have banned them (good) but we still allow so many other gases out. Unsurprisingly the world is all about economics. But I should get off my stool as it only has one leg. I drive a car, buy new electronics all the time and have a poorly insulated old house. Thus I admit to just 3 of my environmental sins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.