Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

We had planned, my mum, my sister and I, to travel together from Mum's place near Greenwich to my place in Bedford. There are several routes to Bedford from Greenwich but all of them go via St Pancras, and it was only when we arrived there that it became apparent that my mum and my sister were forbidden from travelling together – Mum's ticket allowed her to travel with one train operator and Arachne's the alternative. I had a choice so I travelled with mum while Arachne kept us entertained with messages from her train letting us know that we were ahead, we were both stationery at the same station, and then she was ahead and waiting for us when our train arrived.

They visited my flat and my garden, we made a tour of central Bedford and had a spot of lunch, and then returned to the flat to rest up a bit, it had been a fairly energetic weekend. Later I put mum back onto another train home and later still I took Arachne off to the pub where I am starting to establish myself. It was lively and fun and after we had extricated ourselves and were heading back to bed did I realise I hadn't taken a single shot all day.

This is the eaves of a dormer window in another pub we passed on the way. It had not been open on Sunday but it was happily strobing through its repertoire of coloured lights and these are the clearest two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.