momcat1

By momcat1

Swallowtail caterpillar

I was putting in some last minute spinach seeds I had  left over from a few weeks ago when I noticed the  dill plant had some unexpected attachments. Two swallowtail caterpillars. There are several other dill plants currently but they didn't seem to have any caterpillars or visible eggs ( not that I couldn't have missed the latter). Hoping they aren't noticed by any ravenous birds. Still have not seen any monarch caterpillars on the milkweed or the butterfly weed. 
3 hummers have been around the last few days  chasing each other in and out of the apple trees , probably after bugs. I think they are all juveniles as they didn't seem to be able to figure out the feeders till today. the juvenile male is in extras. He was hogging the feeders in the evening but was visiting the  lobelia earlier in the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.