Ice Creams with Grandad

We all went out to visit Janet's dad, Noel, today. It was a bit breezy but warm, and we rolled him along to the local park for a naughty ice cream. 

His wheelchair was huge and heavy, and I took to the road and dared him to grin at the traffic because the adverse cambers on the pavement meant he was at risk of flying into it anyway! He was always good a a laugh. ;-)

Although his voice is almost inaudible nowadays (I had to turn my ears up to maximum and hope the kids in the park didn't scream near my augmented ears!), he was very much on form and interested in hearing all about Charlie's Portuguese adventures.

I struggle with the concept of being old and frail and at the mercy of others. I rather hope I'll not get to that stage. Nevertheless, he's clearly well looked after and doing quite well for a bloke in his nineties. Long time since we both worked at the Grid Control Centre at Durley Park!

This is a central crop from the camera balanced on a picnic table, set with a ten second timer. I don't know how f22 came about, but at least it's all in focus!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.