Trail Cam

Had a set back with the small trail cam. The batteries ran out in the night, the night before last. I thought they were supposed to last months. Yes Duracell batteries were used. But when I check on reviews, I find people are only expecting it to be triggered off once or twice in the night, hence their batteries do last months. My small trail cam is triggered off at the least 400, up to 600 times in the night. And is recording 30 second videos at a time. So it was a miracle they were lasting as long as they did. So no vids from the small trail cam. Large trail cam, that was up and working the same night. So, thought I would get something from that. As usual it was blinking useless. It picked up about 20 videos the entire night, and each was of Midnight shaking the moths away who land on him. I knew there had been wild life activity in the night, especially from the fox poop left on the ground (which would have been in full view of the large trail cam), but it picked nothing up. And it's battery is still at 95%.

So, for last night, I took the batteries out of the large trail cam (it has 8 batteries) and put the 4 needed in the small trail cam. I am just looking through the first 20 videos, and by 22:05:22 (pm) I have the first good one. I still have another 400 odd 30sec videos to trawl through, but it is lovely watching them. There is one funny one where Midnight is slow blinking the trail cam. There is a red led type display that comes on when it is triggered off (I though nothing was supposed to come on to show the camera was there, but it doesn't upset any of the animals...). So here is a still from that video, and a link to the full 30sec thing on YouTube. 


https://youtu.be/G2Dac5jpBEY

Now I need a cuppa and some food (yes I forgot to eat again yesterday with the plumbing crisis...)

You all have your best day.




P.S. What plumbing crisis you ask?
The down pipe  from the kitchen sink u bend came adrift.
It wouldn't go back in, was just loose.
How it held in the first place I have no idea.
Trip to plumbing supplies. Oh we'll send a plumber out next week. No, that is not what I asked, I replied, I asked for the plumbing bits. Oh we don't sell them separately.


I finally ended up at a builder's merchants (they are few and far between nowadays). Found some bits and pieces. Under £6 I paid for them. 


Back home, the next problem is my mobility problem, and inability to get back off the ground, once on it...)


Then I discover my u bend fittings are imperial measurements, and my new fittings metric measurements.


To cut long story short I improvised with the fittings, and also my getting up ability...


One hour later, I have the washing machine on (big test), and the down pipe is holding beautifully...


I started my quest at 12 noon to look for the parts. It was 4 pm before I got back. And 6 pm by the time I had finished and tidied up.


I am now a hunchbacked decrepit old lady hobbling along today...

Flower Friday in extra.
A forget-me-not
And it is September...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.