Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Celebrate

I was one of many gathered in the sunshine in the Winter Gardens at Glasgow's People's Palace this morning for the launch of Celebrate. Celebrate is a grants programme run by the four National Lottery Distributors in Scotland: the Big Lottery Fund, Creative Scotland, the Heritage Lottery Fund* and SportScotland. It will offer grants of up to £10,000 to allow communities to celebrate the 2014 Commonwealth Games or their links with the Commonwealth.

We were entertained by a variety of dancers, singers and musicians from across Scotland and from many ethnic backgrounds (including even Fife!). I also had curried goat for my lunch (not from Fife ... I think). It was a real feel-good event. There were many stars of the show, but this young Indian dancer, who moved effortlessly from Indian raga rhythms to Celtic music was up there with the best of them.

*where I work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.