Andy Tang's Photo Journal

By AndyTang

Fast, just got faster...

So after a busy day at work for our end of month and a quick drink after work, the obvious thing to do when I got home was to rewire my home network.

Not content to do it at work, I'm that chef cooking at home!

My new router seem to cause more issues than help on my network. I lost connectivity to one of my home plugs and my wireless access point stopped working how I like it. The only option was to switch my new router into modem mode, so I lose the 5Ghz wireless and some security, but regained my whole network back.

The only shortcoming is that I only run up to G and not N, as my wife's Motorola Defy does not support N. This means it throttles down the speed of my whole wireless network. I get over 60Mbps on N and wired, while on G I only get 24Mbps. For some strange reason the home plug for the family PC in the kitchen gets 35Mbps, while the one for the YouView box in the living room gets 9Mbps.

I've ordered some new 9dBi antennas for my access point, so I should be able to flood the house with a stronger wireless signal. Although if that doesn't work, I may have to move the access point to a less discrete place (which I'm sure my wife won't like, especially when I start drilling big holes to feed Ethernet cables into the hallway)

For now, good enough until I get a chance to use my Wi-Spy to scan the air for interference to the wireless, and get a chance to optimise the wireless network.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.