Lodi, CA to the Perrydale Ranch

Road trip today, Lodi, CA , to the Perrydale Ranch, 10 hours, 23 minutes, 593 miles, or 954 kms. A long trip, but a good one, reflecting on the wedding last night. California 60’ palms; later, backyard Oregon pines.

Our soundtrack of the day, first as we left Lodi: Ludovico Einaudi. Classical piano to hit the road.
2nd: Mickey Hart. Drums. Good rhythm for freeway driving, central California to southern Oregon.
3rd: Jerry Garcia

Last song, “Wagon Wheel,” Old Crow Medicine Show. Final verse:

“Walkin’ to the south, out of Roanoke,
I caught a trucker out of Philly,
had a nice long toke…
but he’s headin’ west from the
Cumberland Gap to
Johnson City, Tennessee.

And I gotta get a move on before the sun
I hear my baby callin' my name and I know that she's the only one
And if I died in Raleigh, at least I will die free

So, rock me mama like a wagon wheel
Rock me mama any way you feel
Hey... mama rock me
Oh, rock me mama like the wind and the rain
Rock me mama like a southbound train
Hey... mama rock me
So, rock me mama like a wagon wheel
Rock me mama any way you feel (oh, I wanna feel)
Hey... mama rock me.”

Good to be home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.