Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Spa in the city

Gladys: 'What's going on here, Mu?'
Muriel: 'It says, 'SPAR in the City, free at the weekend', Glad.'
Gladys: 'What are all the tents for then?'
Muriel: 'Must be the different counters - fruit, veges, wet fish...'
Gladys: 'Let's come down with our shopping trolleys then!'

An incident free swimming session this morning, and the whole Slow Lane to myself. What utter luxury. AND I was able to use the Mother and Child changing cubicles, and all the yobos schoolchildren had gone. Although I did nearly get splatted on the road as I dashed across against the lights because my bus was at the bus stop...

Popped into My Club and because it's May Day, there were wee cakes. Which I just noticed as I was leaving... but did manage to pop a couple delicately in my gob. They have finished the tramlines round this area and it's so nice not having the disruption. Lovely clean new pavement slabs. Soon to be covered in chewing gum...

On the bus (top front seat) I sat beside a young lady who had headphones in, as per. The sound was leaking so much, I could hear who it was. I tugged her sleeve.

She looked a bit startled, but was happy when I said, 'Admiral Fallow?' and we both gave a thumbs up.

She stuck the headphones back in. I tugged her sleeve again.

'I'm going to see them in Perth this month!'

Can you imagine that conversation a generation ago? Well, there were no iPods, obviously, but nowadays old codgers like the same music as the young folk. Didn't happen in my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.