Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

History happening right here!

I’m afraid I’ve done nothing much today except follow the funeral cortège coverage. Royal Deeside looked wonderful in the sunshine, and I am pleased that the Queen died at Balmoral.

I had thought of going down to join the masses on the Royal Mile. And then I saw the crowds on Tv. No way! Thousands of people had been standing around since early morning, waiting for the hearse to flash by in a few seconds. Some of the people in the right place did see the ‘Proclamation of the new King’, but otherwise they were just waiting…

JR and Hazel were keen to go down for a look - they can walk fast, so they set off, while Archie and I went round the block before the hearse reached the city. We found a nice wee collection of toys, but we left them for someone else to claim.

I got back to see the cortège going down the Mile. JR and Hazel got there and saw the tops of the cars passing by. We may go down tomorrow to pay our respects in the Cathedral, but I suspect there will be very long queues, and I’m no good at standing for a long time. I feel I should make the effort, as it’s history happening on my doorstep… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.