wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

Pomp and circumstance

I'm finding all the royal events of the day very addictive! Can hardly keep my eyes off the TV, which is a bit of a problem as I am due my 5 yearly re-accreditation and I need to get my portfolio collated and "approved" (as our new King repeatedly said today). Today the focus was on proclaiming the new King. I found it all very interesting as we found ourselves transported back to another ancient era, before mass media. Once the death of the monarch was formally announced, and the succession to the throne of the new King was proclaimed at the Accession council (televised for the first time), then this was proclaimed to the public from the steps of the Royal Exchange in London. Canons were fired and trumpets played. So much pomp and ceremony, ancient language and regalia! 
A few pleasant dog walks got me out of the house and away from my TV and portfolio. 


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.