A "Painted" Duck

Had another softball practice today. It took me 3 minutes to pull the same hamstring muscle again. But...this time it was worse. On a scale of 1-10...a 5 or a 6. It hurts. (The pulling of the muscle was the reason I quit playing 10 years ago.)

I hated to...but I said goodbye to the guys. Not a normal goodbye...but one I stole from the children in The Sound of Music.

"So long...farewell...auf Wiedersehen...good bye. I hate to go, and leave this pretty sight."

I shook all of their hands...continuing with the song..."Adieu...adieu...to yieu and yieu and yieu." I needed a slam-bang finish...stealing the falsetto from one of the Von Trapp boys..."Good byeeeeeeee."

I SO wanted it to work out. But...everything felt foreign...like I had never played before. Fielding the ball, throwing the ball, even hitting the ball. Gone...the softball skills...they be gone.

I kept my options open...telling the manager that if they had a bunch of injuries that I would consider trying again.

Just like the painted duck...I felt I was flying away from the game of my childhood. Well...not my childhood...but my 20's, 30's, and 40's.

Notice the yellow band on the ducks "ankle." At least I don't have to be branded or banded.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.