Shutterbug

By studiob

College of One, Part 2

The day was sunny, the temperature perfect, the setting beautiful.

I attended my second "Thank You" Luncheon for the Docents of the Oklahoma City Museum of Art at the home of one of the Education Curators.

We broke bread and celebrated another year of exhibitions and tours with the new Director of the Museum, staff members and the docents.

It was a great year of exhibits that started last June with Roman Art from the Louvre, and included American Impressionists from the Phillips Collection, Harlem Renaissance, an exhibition put together by the OKCMOA staff, and is concluding with French Prints and Julius Shulman's Photographs of Modern Oklahoma Architecture. The new year starts in June with "Turner to Cezanne", the Davies Collection from National Wales Museum.

And so, we were honored with certificates for volunteering. And those that had volunteered over 100 hours were given specially propogated angel winged begonias from the greenhouse of the Education Curator, specially potted in pink pots to mark the achievement.

I became a docent two summers ago as part of my College of One curriculum (see May 3rd blip). I have been filled with new knowledge, rewarded with rich friendships and have met people of all ages, races and walks of life.

This has been my favorite course in the College of One. I can't wait for my third year course!

Oh, and I got to take home a pink-potted angel winged begonia!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.