At the undertakers

When I went to the High Street this morning I noticed this in one of the Undertakers windows. This firm often puts photographs of prominent people in their window when they have died. One of the charity shops…Mary’s Living and Giv8ng also had a very stylish window display of a variety of black clothing.

The poem alongside is written as if from the Queen referring to Philip beckoning her to ‘heaven’?  When I first read it I wondered where it originated from as I was not sure about the grammar and punctuation plus a small i  instead of a capital I.  After  a very quick search I found it seems to have originated from TODAY FM in Auckland! It was sent into the radio station and there is a video clip of a presenter reading it. The presenter reads it well and the text as he reads it is correct..…a pity the person who typed this for the website ( and so consequently downloaded by the undertakers) is not correct English!

I know the poet laureate has also written a nice poem which wa sin the newspaper earlier this week.

I also popped into the church to sign the book of condolence there. I also received an email from the National Trust to say they have books of condolence for the public to sign in many of their properties.

Just caught a news update which showed that David Beckham had queued for 12 hours with ‘ ordinary’ people to get into Westminster Hall…well done him for this.

We had a busy day meeting friends who were ex colleagues of my husband for a lovely lunch in a Sicilian restaurant near Farnham. Delicious and very filling so no supper needed! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.