Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

BIG!

The sore throat has gone, and I feel more or less fine, really. Well, still quite breathless. I’m inordinately hot and sweaty on the inside, but very cold on the outside when out walking, so have to have my jacket zipped up, causing me to get even more hot’n’bothered. I haven’t tested again yet.

Yesterday, Hazel got stung on the hand by a wasp. It was pretty sore, but during the night her hand swelled up alarmingly. She sent a photo this morning. (Extra) Jings! She went to the chemist, and was given pills, but later, it got worse. She rang 111, but an hour’s wait, so I insisted she should just go straight to A&E - she had to be seen! JR was by this time, home from the gym, and was able to accompany her. Many blood tests, and hours, later - they’re both home. They’re still not sure what the cause was, it could be an infection or an allergic reaction. She’s just texted to say that the hospital still doesn’t know, and she’s to go back tomorrow. She was very impressed with the professionalism of the A&E team.

Archie and I went for a couple of walks round to the Links. He wanted to try one of the exercise machines, but he then wanted off as soon as he was on it. Apart from that I’ve watched James Martin in France, and yes, more of the coverage from London. There must be many thousands of people working long long hours to pull this event off.

Big Day tomorrow.

Suitcases are out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.