Journies at home

By journiesathome

Reform

Twenty years ago I was a republican (in the French sense of the word)

Then I whiled away lock-down watching The Crown and understood that I was possibly a bit too old to be thinking in black and white so I imperceptibly mellowed (so imperceptibly that I didn't realise I'd done so until today).

That's how I found myself knocking on Derek and Eileen's door at mid day, asking if I could watch the funeral with them.  

Two union jacks were stood up in a bucket in the fireplace.  Derek offered me a cup of tea which made me feel culturally alienated and I produced a bottle of Blanquette from my bag which he went and put in the fridge (for later).....

Later took a long time; Derek heaved himself off the sofa as the coffin left the Abbey and toddled to the kitchen for 4 glasses and some cheese straws.  He came back in time to hear Linda saying that BJ was actually 'quite sweet' which saved me from throttling her.

Eileen, who is the epitomy of sweetness, got out the sampler she made when she was 10.

I left the house blinking in the French sun and wondering where I was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.