Ditat

I did not know what Ditat meant. Google kept taking me to the motto of Arizona - Ditat Deus - which apparently means God Enriches. So I assume Ditat means enriches which would make sense on a banknote.

The reference comes from a 1953 British Linen banknote I have. I took lots of screenshots fromTV and other potential blips today from the impressive and moving ceremony in London. It was on such a grand scale but one of the key image for me was of the (neatly arranged) flower strewn meadows along the Great Walk at Windsor with one of her horses standing vigil.

I was doing OK until the hymn the day thou gravest Lord is ended. The soaring descants and trumpets caught me as I remembered my parents and those I have lost.

I confess I did wonder what kept the Crown, Sceptre and Orb in place but later on I saw that, as expected, they were securely fastened. I had wondered how the Lord Chamberlain would break his staff: over his knee? I was a bit disappointed he just unscrewed it in the middle!

The late Queen had always been around and her death sparked memories of those who had been around for years but have now passed on. Whether this public outpouring of grief - in which I participated - was for a Monarch of many years or for a person who had dedicated her life unstintingly to public service, I am not sure. Time will tell.

But what is clear to me is that our lives have been enriched by her bearing and steadfastness and today was a moment of loss.

So while my blip is not a more traditional recording of today’s events, this banknote from the year of her coronation will do me fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.