I love new potatoes

And you can’t buy the really wonderful ones in most shops whatever silly prices you pay.

Last year, I tried Monty Don’s idea of planting them on the patio in a cardboard box. It sort of worked. The box disintegrated and there weren’t many spuds, but the ones there were were amazing.

This year, I bought a couple of patio potato containers. They didn’t collapse but I still didn’t have many. Again, the ones I had, and there were a lot more than last year, were wonderful.

I can’t resist advertising. They say you can grow your own new potatoes for Christmas. I hated to see my potato containers lying idle, and the seed potatoes were reduced, so I had a go.

At this rate they’ll be ready next month !! 

Ooh, I’ve just seen they’ve got a visitor !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.