Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

LECCE DAY TWO

A more leisurely day, just dandering around the Old Town, trying not to get too lost. We got to the Tourist Info, and so we’ve booked a ‘Van Tour’ of the area on Saturday, in order to see the ‘Trulli’ houses.

Lecce is wonderful - chock-a-block with ancient buildings covered in ornate statues and carvings, many of them crumbling a bit now. There are many many churches. Lots of folk whizz around on scooters, which you can hire. I was very tempted for a while till I came to my senses.

We came back to the flat for a rest in the afternoon. I get very tired, and my back is really playing up, so I’m not keen to walk for miles. JR popped out to find a supermarket, and to try to get some fruit and salad veges. She didn’t get lost, and found salad stuff to go with our left over pizza from last night.

Later we went out for a coffee. Well, a coffee for JR - I haven’t had one that I liked yet - so I’ve given up and moved on to beer (though not, I hasten to add, in the mornings). We’ve found a very nearby cafe which does nice healthy breakfasts, though today we had to try a local delicacy ‘pasticcioto’ (top left) pastry filled with custard. Delicious, but you shouldn’t have one every day. But you could…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.