James Clerk Maxwell

I was in the centre of the city this morning for a long overdue catch up with my successor at Children’s Hearings Scotland, Elliot. It was great to catch up on developments and exchange news.

I’d arrived a bit early as bus routes are somewhat erratic with diversions and it gave me a chance to look at the stature of James Clerk Maxwell at the east end of George Street.

Despite its classical appearance it was erected only in 2008. Maxwell is considered one of the great mathematical physicists and is said to have inspired Einstein. He developed the laws of electrodynamics which led to modern day electronics.

He also, it is reported to have helped produce the world’s first colour photograph. It is slightly perverse that my photo of his statue is almost black and white. It was a very wet grey day in Edinburgh this morning.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.