Old Road

I took down to Lancaster at lunchtime, so that he could catch the train down to London. We stopped at Go Burrito for a farewell lunch, and then that was it, he was off.

It was odd going back to the house. I mean, I've returned to an empty house plenty of times but it was different this time, knowing that both Dan and Abi were away at university, and it really was just me (and Flea).

After work I walked 'round to Booths, taking a long route via the river for steps. The old bit of road in my photo goes from the corner of the cricket pitch down to the old (and now converted) gasworks. My suspicion is that this would have once been the main route into town from Devil's Bridge, going up from the river via Mill Brow. (I've no idea how I can verify that, though.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.