trekmum

By trekmum

In search of ancestors

I drove over to Clarkston Parish Church in Airdrie today in search of the grave of one of my great great grandfathers who died in 1872. And I found it! Small graveyard and a big gravestone, much bigger than I expected, given that he was an iron forger.

He has an interesting story. Brought up in Cramond, he was only 10 years old when his father was killed by his own brother in a brawl. Later on, he and some of his siblings came through to Lanarkshire to work in the iron mills here. He then married his wife Elizabeth in the same year as he had a son with another young woman - the child who was to become my great grandfather.
As a family historian, there are always stories to tell - but far more questions that remain unanswered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.