Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Cat-faced Spider

It's orb-weaver season!  This lovely specimen had woven a beautiful web over the license plate of our camper.  I had to dismantle it to stick our new registration sticker on the plate, but the spider was nowhere in sight.  I finished the job and then thought she might be hiding behind the plate, and there she was.  I coaxed her out with a twig and this photo was taken on the back bumper, right next to a pile of her excrement.  It only looked like a small drop to the naked eye, and I didn't even notice it.  The spider's body was about as big as a grape.  After the photo shoot, I carefully placed her in the garden where she'll have a much better chance to catch insects.  These spiders might look scary, but they're harmless.  What I read said that if they do bite, they rarely even break the skin.  Anyway, I know everyone doesn't share my fascination, so I apologize to the arachnophobes who are probably cringing!

I took a break from chores to get this posted so I won't have to do it later.  We're making good progress with our camping preparations.  I plugged in the refrigerator last night and it is down to the perfect temperature.  It's always nice when things work.  She's 5 years old now, so you never know.

I am grateful for the beautiful weather.  Summer is finally over!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.