dwalletta

By dwalletta

The sewing bee girls

I had a sad day today - my mum didn't recognise me when I visited. I've been expecting it for a while, but it's still hard.

For over fifty years mum was a member of a sewing bee - women who had met at school, grew up together and married and had children. It was more social than productive - in fact I can't remember a single quilt, cardigan or dress being worked on.

When I was a kid, I remember they met at out house when it was mum's turn to have them round. It was a real treat because mum spent hours baking, and the 'girls' as they were known all brought me and my sister sweeties to share.

This is Jean, one of the girls, who is in her eightieth year and still spends every Friday afternoon working in the local hospice shop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.