JohnHeuston1

By JohnHeuston1

Me and my Moleskine

I use my iPhone a lot. Twitter and work email via app, but also music and more. In meetings and the like I sometimes use the basic 'Notes' app but I still have my trusty Moleskine notebook.

Seth Godin talks about 'worldview' - we each have a worldview, and so should each brand. When the two align, you have proper marketing. It's a smart thought - I buy brands that I believe in, they fit into my worldview, but also into how I approach that worldview. In meetings and for general musings, it's propeller pencil and Moleskine. Add a coffee and my iPhone and I'm feeling set.

Besides, how can you not buy into a brand that proclaims itself to be all about 'culture, imagination, memory, travel, personal identity'. And then goes on to day that it is 'a brand that identifies a family of notebooks, diaries and city guides: flexible and brilliantly simple tools for use both in everyday and extraordinary circumstances, ultimately becoming an integral part of one's personality'. It's practically the walking, talking definition of a brand having a worldview. The only drawback is a slight feeling of inadequacy and living up to this. It somehow doesn't seem right then to take it into a meeting discussing column 28 of an Excel spreadsheet and the third paragraph of a KPI. Ha, still a fan though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.