Red Sky in the Morning

I should have known.

I had a good morning working from home and was all packed and ready to go when the taxi arrived. I got to the station in good time, stored luggage, found my seat and got a chai for the journey. About 30 minutes after we were due to depart we were told the train has been cancelled. There were problems with overhead wires near Prestonpans. I stayed at the station for another two and a half hours and by the time I left, around 6 pm, at least five trains going to London had been cancelled, there were no rail replacement coaches and basically nothing was heading south.

On Saturday there is a train strike. There are precious few trains on Sunday that aren’t sold out and I think the hundreds of people delayed from Friday will fill up the few trains with seats. I have meetings on Monday I can’t miss so can’t travel due to intermittent WiFi so I decided to go back on Tuesday morning.

I checked other forms of transport. The coaches are full up until Monday (and take 12 hours to get to London). A rental car would cost upwards of £250 with petrol. A flight is around £350.

I have old dear friends from Canada that are due to arrive in London on Sunday for a couple of days that I will likely miss seeing. I really thought long and hard about my options and my bank balance. I hope I get to see them on Tuesday.

Hey ho!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.