X Sighted

By q8rdave

Anthony Bourdain Looks Through a Purse

Well, he was sort-of forced to. A fan, after all, is a fan who is allowed to gush and mush and loose the book-to-be-signed. After a terrific presentation, it was co-mingle time. My dislike of people when they are being celebrities must only be matched by the dislike the people being celebrities have of themselves. I - who is only a celebrity to myself - cannot imagine what pleasure or pain (I suspect the later) this endless line of the local folk after your touch of ink on their ticket and your visage with theirs in the lens of their iPhones must engender in a celebrity psyche. Sigh, I was told by the guard who watched over the Precious that "Mr. Bourdain requested that no photos be taken from the drink line" - the line I was in and from which I took this image. "Hey, big shot celebrity cooking junkie, I bought a ticket that says photo ops and I am doing my rightful opting." I wanted to say but didn't. At that point I no more wanted to "meet" him, get an autograph (shit, I could have put it on eBay!) and have my face close to his in a digital preservation. Driving home I realized that I could have watched a better version of the presentation online, had better food and no hassle from the celeb for free at home. Some things just aren't worth the price.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.