First attempt at ‘log cabin’ over 30 years ago.

I’m now continuing with turning out cupboards and shelves to try and get rid of/ recycle to charity shops etc things we don’t need. We have a very very large airing cupboard and on investigating the large top shelf found several pairs of curtains I had forgotten about, some old blankets , other linen, a sleeping bag, a couple of cushions and several patchwork cushion covers and other patchwork items. 
This is one of my first attempts at ‘log cabin’ design, I made several cushion covers for our first house . I decided to wash all the patchwork items and see if they are worth keeping. This one is a bit wonky and I think even after ironing it will not be great. I was self taught and did not have the equipment  I have  now! I think it may be suitable to make into some sort of bag.

I also have a very large quilt for a double bed in log cabin design too, made with lots of Laura Ashley fabric. In those days the dresses were made in the U.K. and they used to sell all the off cuts from making the dresses in the shops which was great.

The decoration of our bedroom began and seems to be going OK even though the decorator is now saying it will take a day longer and I would need to pay him extra…..I reminded him what he had quoted and said that was what I would be paying, not more! It is up to him how many days he takes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.