Nairnite

By Nairnite

Oxo Tin

Milly went out with Jan this morning whilst I took advantage of a break in the weather to carry on down in the orchard. We still have no blossom so it doesn't bode well for the apple and pear crop later in the year. I have now come in to warm up and make a soup for brunch. I can feel a curry coming on for dinner tonight.

I was looking around for a blip today and suddenly realised I have a small collection of tins so here is the first. This is a tin made by the OXO company and held 6 of their beef stock cubes. I believe it came from the late 40's but I will stand to be corrected. I well remember a larger tin which had square edges from the 1950's which the menfolk use to use as a sandwich tin for their meal break at work. This was carried with a Thermos Flask in a Forces haversack which was kept by the men after demobilisation (demob) from WWII. Each haversack was the colour of the relevent arm in which they served.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.