Return to the North

By Viking

Black isle woodturning

A lad who I’ve literally watch growing up from the age of 9 (now in his later 40’s) made this.
He was always incredibly talented. Until my move back from NZ I had a painting of a kingfisher he did for me when he was 10. He later went on to create wrought iron gates and staircases but pressures of wife and kids meant he took a job as technician in a school in the Highlands.
In his spare time he set up Black Isle Woodturning and as of Feb this year he’s making it pay as a full time business.

The bowl is one he made for my nephews wedding present but I liked it so much I’ve kept it myself. It replaces the kingfisher that alas was probably consigned to a bin somewhere in the Southern Hemisphere. The time and effort that goes in to these relatively small pieces is reflected in their price so not for everyone but he seems to be making it pay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.