Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

Today started out with the staff and two of us that do work training. Then my other co-worker went home so I did some work with my boss. First we decided that it would be good to save the hand cream making until Monday, since two other co-workers have voiced interest in making some. But, I did start a new batch of calendula oil. Which basically is taking the flower petals, dry them for a long while and then drench them in a suitable oil. At The Garden they use thistle oil, because it goes into the skin easier, but olive oil is also a good choice. This oil will stay like this for two to three weeks before it's used.
Then we went out into the garden to harvest corn. There wasn't much, but some more than in the photo, as you can see in the wheelbarrow. :) I took that to the compost after we also harvested fennel. I had many good talks with my boss today.
I got some fennel home with me and I'm going to wash them, cut them down and freeze the top parts for herbal salt-making later. 
I also picked aronia berries, or chokeberries I think they're also called in English. I bought jam from The Garden earlier and it was the best jam ever. I also gave mum a jar, and she loved it. So, I picked a bag full and I will return tomorrow to pick some more. These bushes are planted by the municipality and free to pick from. :) The ones I picked will be in the freezer later, because the berries tastes better after being frozen, or after the first frosty nights. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.