100 days

By reba465

'The month of May was come...

...when every lusty heart beginneth to blossom, and to bring forth fruit.'

Quite literally in the context of today's photo, although I'm sure Malory's intentions were more metaphorical!

When I was at primary school, our village green also doubled up as our school field and on the edge of it was the most magnificent cherry blossom tree, it was very old and every spring it's branches would touch the ground with the weight of blossom. It's trunk was home to many games and pretend weddings and we would make floral crowns and posies for each other and buttonholes for the boys. It was magical!

Twelve years later, I was visiting my parents and as I passed the green I turned to look at the tree, as I always did whenever back in the village. It took a minute to process what looked different... Then I saw a stump where the beautiful tree once stood. It's the first and only time I've cried over a tree being cut down, but it was the heart of the village green and of my school memories, and was so beautiful to look at.

When I moved to my current house, I noticed a small cherry tree in the corner of the garden. When it blossomed the following spring, the blossom was exactly the same colour as the one from the green, which made me very happy!

It's even more pertinent as it blooms this year because I'm finally having my own real wedding! (There'll be no floral crown though!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.