Bicycling parrot.

As I walked up a small hill near here, a young woman came haring down on a bike, shouting “Come on!” repeatedly.  I had time to wonder if a husband was going to come round the corner at speed.  Or children.  Or a dog.  In fact it was a bird.  Again I had time to think.  Owl?  Raptor?  Then I got it – a parrot!  I thought I recognised the bike rider, whose parents still live near us.  She got back to her parents' house as I passed on my way home, so we had a chat.  It was the first time she had taken him for a fly with her on a bike and on the way back he was flying alongside her at her head height saying “Good boy, good boy”!    She and some of her friends with parrots take them into the Peak District where they throw them off a cliff to play together in the thermals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.