More surprises

Earlier this year I cleaned out the fruit cage. I had not looked after it and its productivity was almost zero. All the bushes and climbers were got rid off and the strawberries, about six years old at least, also dumped. I did retain the strawberry runners that had become numerous, putting them in a small raised bed until I was ready to replant them.
Well it was replanting time now.
I was concerned that I would not have enough plants as the whole cage was going to be filled with strawberries, more than double what I initially had. Well I should not have worried. I still have about a quarter of the temporary bed to clear and have enough plants to over fill the fruit cage, having already filled the new raised bed with health runners. 
Not only do I have far to many plants, a lot of them are in flower and there are at least six good sized strawberry fruits amongst the plants, all very green and unlikely to ripen. Hopefully promises well for next year. All rather successful for a temporary dumping ground.
The blip is of another garden surprise today. I bought garlic cloves a couple of weeks ago and planted them immediately. As you can see they are growing well. Hope its not too early for them and we get no heavy frosts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.