Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stress on the sofa

Pip came bounding in this morning - he gets really excited when he visits. They watched me tidy up one of my drawers - I seem to have acquired dozens of teeshirts over the years, most of which I don’t wear. Though I still have my favourites, a couple of them from NZ, so more than 20 years old. And I will not throw out the teeshirt with the hole in the arm - it’s a souvenir of my Safari, being stabbed by the long lethal thorns on the acacia trees.

Apart from that, I have spent much of the day on the sofa, and on the phone, tearing my hair out. I’m trying to move a mobile to a different provider, while keeping the same number. Sounds straightforward. It’s not. First of all, you’ve got to listen to excruciating screechy pop muzak for absolutely ages. I don’t know how long, because on two occasions I gave up. Then in the afternoon, I worked up enough stamina to have another go. Bingo! I got through this time, and I was put through to the second provider, who was actually very helpful. But the line was crackly, and she was very hard to understand. But I think it’s organised… phew!

JR took the dogs out a couple of times, but Pip refused to go out the second time - he doesn’t like the rain. While I was trying to arrange my new phone stuff, both dogs were very clingy and wanted to sit up with me. Usually, if one of them gets there first, the other finds another seat, because though they’re pals, they don’t want to be too near each other. This is the closest they’ve ever been!

I also had to ring the doctor re feedback on my X-ray, and had to fill out a form for a refund from the travel company, but didn’t have the proper booking number. I had to send a photo of my card, as it wasn’t the one I’d originally used (two years ago) and fiddle about hiding the card number - So much faffing around, with two dogs getting in my way.

JR went to the supermarket and brought back a couple of nice pastry treats. Just what I needed!

Photo by JR

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.